A Blessed Day

I’ve had people tell me to “have a blessed day,” before, and I’ve always loved the phrase, but felt awkward using it myself, because it always seemed to come from people with a southern accent, so I thought I’d be pretending to be something I wasn’t (southern) by using it. However, yesterday I had an experience that made me rethink that opinion.

W and I went to the local farmers market: I love it, and we go every week. Yesterday, while I was buying something, W managed to get his fat little fingers into (literally) a very large, expensive, fancy looking heirloom tomato, and then dropped it on the ground, squishing one side (at least, that’s what I could deduce). I turned back around, to see him sitting innocently in his stroller, but with the squished and torn tomato on the table next to him. I picked it up and told him now we needed to buy it. As I was telling him this, a lovely woman said (without a southern accent), “oh, I’ll buy it, I like tomato” (somehow she must have sensed I’m not a tomato lover).

I responded, “really?”

She took the tomato from me and said, “yes. Have a blessed day.”

I was too surprised to say much except, “you too.”

As I walked away she said to me, “it’ll remind me of my grandchildren who are in the mid-west.”

So there you have it, the phrase, “have a blessed day” isn’t just a southern thing. And I’ve had so many people say it to me while doing nice things for me I feel like I really ought to pass it on–both the nice things and the phrase.

So everyone, I encourage you to do something nice for someone else (especially if it’s helping them when their little dumpling has done something naughty) and tell them to have a blessed day–if you think about it, by helping them, you are making sure they have a blessed day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

