Finding God in Applesauce and Naps

I mentioned before that “W” was teething this week. It was pretty bad: one day in particular I couldn’t get him to nap or eat anything (other than nursing) and I was getting really worried. As I was trying to get him to sleep at nap time I felt really overwhelmed and incompetent. As I was sitting with him I remembered a blessing my Dad had given to me when “W” was just a few months old. In it he had blessed me to “know what to do” for “W.” When I remembered that I started to pray, asking over and over that I would know what to do for him. The impression came to try something we had done to help “W” get to sleep when he was much smaller, but it had stopped working a month or two earlier. I tried it, and a few minutes later “W” was ready to take a nap. It was amazing.

Later, after “W” woke up, and I was worrying over getting him to eat, I said the same prayer, asking to know what to do for him. The thought came, “try applesauce.” Now, I had tried applesauce on him several times recently, and he would never eat it, so it didn’t really make sense. But I decided to try it again, so I got him some apple sauce, and he ate it! Applesauce, cheerios, oat cereal, and water are pretty much all he’s eaten the past few days, but it’s something!

Naps and eating, two such normal, unimpressive things, but they make a world of difference. It was comforting for me this week to have the blessing I was given be fulfilled and my prayers answered, multiple times, in an interconnected way. It made me think of one of my favorite scriptures (and part of the inspiration for this blog): 1 Kings 19:11-12

“11. And he said, Go forth, and stand upon the mount before the Lord. And, behold, the Lord passed by, and a great and strong wind rent the mountains, and brake in pieces the rocks before the Lord; but the Lord was not in the wind: and after the wind an earthquake; but the Lord was not in the earthquake:

12. And after the earthquake a fire; but the Lord was not in the fire: and after the fire a still small voice.”

We don’t have to have big, impressive things happen to see God in our lives, so often it is in the small, normal things, the things that we can count on happening to us, that we find him, like knowing how to get a baby to take a nap and eat some applesauce.

Leave a Reply

